A Saturday in New York

In mid-September Emily and I traveled to New York City to visit with friends and enjoy a beautiful weekend up there.  About a year earlier, our friend Jillian got engaged. This weekend, her mother and bridesmaids were throwing her a surprise wedding shower. After spending an evening with Carly (Emily’s best friend from high school) in Brooklyn, I decided to let the girls catch up on old times. While Emily spent the morning with Carly and then went to Long Island for the shower, I headed into the city to explore Chinatown and Little Italy’s Feast of San Gennaro.

Early in the morning I had most of the streets to myself, but of course that didn’t last too long!  In a matter of hours the streets were alive with people and shops.  Once the streets were too crowded, I headed out across the Brooklyn Bridge. I hadn’t been on the bridge since 2004, when my sister and I walked across it. On the Brooklyn side I encountered a wedding party, which definitely made me look forward to Jillian and Greg’s wedding in November.  After my explorations, I headed back across the Manhattan Bridge to meet up with my cousin Kevin.

Kevin and I had a great deal of fun walking around the city. He has lived there for over two years now, and he showed me some of his favorite places in the city.  Later Saturday night, Emily and I met up with Mike and Stacey at a comedy club. We hadn’t seen them in a while and really enjoyed meeting up with them.  After the club we headed down to Union Square for a house party and meeting some of Mike’s friends.  It was a great night to catch up with friends and family.

More photos available at Smugmug

~ by Rob Page III on November 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
