Adventures in Turkey: From Cappadocia to Istanbul

A couple months ago, Emily and I had the pleasure of exploring Turkey and visiting with Christiaan and Dara.  It was a beautiful country and a great adventure that we will be sharing over the coming weeks.  Some of the highlights include exploring Istanbul’s bustling markets and extraordinary mosques, the historical ruins of Ephesus, a snowy capital in Ankara, and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia.  These are some of our favorite photos from the trip with the rest available here.

UPDATE: Thank you everyone for your kind comments and taking the time to read my blog.  I haven’t had this much attention since my post about climbing Mt. Rainier with my father.  A few of you have asked about downloading/buying the pictures.  They are available for purchase/download at my Smugmug site.  Downloads of the full-resolution images without the watermark in the lower left hand corner are $5 while prices for prints vary.

 

~ by Rob Page III on June 6, 2011.

114 Responses to “Adventures in Turkey: From Cappadocia to Istanbul”

  1. It looks great. It seems you had lots of fun.

    • It was a lot of fun. Emily and I will enjoy reliving some of the moments as we write up the adventures we had in each of the cities including the Ankara snowstorm that almost trapped us there.

  2. Oh my goodness!!!! It’s so beautiful!! I have always wanted to go there!!! Wow!!!!

  3. Oh my gosh, these all look like postcards! I especially dig the black-and-white with the birds … stunning.

    Thank you for sharing!

    Mikalee

  4. Wow, Turkey is stunning. I love those tall buildings, like in the second one. Heck, I liked em all. Thanks for posting these!

  5. Can’s imagine Turkey is one of the most undeveloped countries !

  6. Your photos are stunning. Turkey is on my wish list to travel. It’s so close to me now, not sure why we haven’t hopped over. Congrats on Freshly Pressed.

  7. Turkey really is a beautiful place. I only had three days to explore Istanbul, but it was one of the best adventures of my life and I’m longing for the day that I get to go back and really explore the country more. Great pictures :D

  8. OMG the pics are spectacular!

  9. Great shots!!!

  10. Came back from a trip to Turkey not long ago and enjoyed it thoroughly, your amazing pictures brought back memories. Thanks for putting them up and congrats on bring Freshly Pressed!

    • Glad I could trigger some good memories. It’s always nice to see places from others’ perspectives or to go back and look at your own photos.

    • Same here. I had such a wonder filled time in Turkey…a real old meets new experience. Richly beautiful landscape and architecture. You’ve captured it spectacularly! Well Done. Thanks for the flash down memory lane ;)

  11. Wow! Beautiful pics. We’re planning a trip to Turkey later this year and your pictures have whet my appetite some more!

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  12. Love your photos! They bring back wonderful memories for me because DH & I spent 5 weeks travelling around Turkey 10 years ago. We didn’t spend time in Ankara, but loved “Stanbul, Cappadocia and Ephesus. If you get back, visit the south coast. There are fabulous ruins in the Antalya area and Antalya is a must visit. Thanks for the memories!

    • Our friends Christiaan and Dara really love the south as well. They tried to get us down there, but we couldn’t make it work. Something to look forward to in the future. It would have been great to have the 5 weeks to visit.

  13. Can you provide larger/original versions of the photos? Specifically the black/white of the birds?

  14. Beautiful pictures!

  15. The markets alone make me want to visit. Gorgeous photos.

  16. Stunning photos guys. We are planning to go there for our honeymoon. This has made me super-excited that we chose Turkey. :)

  17. Did you find Turkey to be a welcoming place for American tourists? Easy to get around? How long is the flight from the E. Coast US?

    • The Turks were very welcoming. We enjoyed a lot of tea. Getting around was very easy. There were some budget flights we took for long distances and they have a great intercity bus service (TVs installed in all the seats, but most of the programming was in Turkish for some odd reason :)).

  18. What amazing pictures! I love Istanbul- such a perfect blend of east and west. And the food is fabulous there!

  19. i always wanted to go to turkey! thanks for sharing the pics, they’re amazing. Now i wanna go there even more

  20. Breathtaking pictures!!

  21. Rob.. These are some good picture. I did see your smugmug gallery, they are very good. I have been to London and Paris, Turkey and Egypt are on my list. Your pics might just make me take the trip sooner.. :)

  22. The pictures are absolutely stunning! Especially the black and white with what I’m assuming are pigeons. I love seeing the architecture in older European buildings. Thanks for sharing!

  23. These images are amazing! Looks like you guys had a great time, thanks for sharing :)

  24. i always wanted to go to turkey! thanks for sharing the pics, they’re amazing. Now i wanna go there even more

  25. Stunning pictures!

  26. Congratulations, beautiful photos!!! I was in Turkey in 2009 and loved this country.

  27. That looks like it was an amazing trip! Your pics are BEAUTIFUL! Thanks for sharing. :)

  28. This is great. Last time I was in Istanbul was about 4 years ago and Hagia Sophia was full of scaffolding/construction paraphernalia. It looks like most of that has finished, judging by your lovely photos.

  29. lovely pics….

  30. wow amazing! i should not have preferred Malaysia over turkey. ><

  31. those photos are beautiful! i’d like to see Turkey in person. thanks for sharing.

  32. The golden ceiling (picture #5) is really beautiful.

  33. beautiful photos! lucky you to have been able to make the trip!

  34. [...] A couple months ago, Emily and I had the pleasure of exploring Turkey and visiting with Christiaan and Dara.  It was a beautiful country and a great adventure that we will be sharing over the coming weeks.  Some of the highlights include exploring Istanbul’s bustling markets and extraordinary mosques, the historical ruins of Ephesus, a snowy capital in Ankara, and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia.  These are some of our favorite photos from the t … Read More [...]

  35. I loved Istanbul when I went! And your photos are beautiful.

  36. Really great photos. Bravo.

  37. Thanks for your sharing of our country. Come back again :)

  38. Wow! Turkey looks fabulous. I have only been to Istanbul. I clearly need to go back to see more. I love your photos.

  39. fabulous photos. especially like the night view ones.

  40. My husband was born in Istanbul and I have now visited Turkey twice. I have falled in love with it. Your photos are spectacular!

  41. Amazing photos :-)

  42. Wow! Fantastic picture!

  43. wonderfull , very beautiful pictures!!! , I am from Turkey and I wait all visitors to my country :)

  44. thanks a lot for great blog i want go to there

  45. Wow! These photos are really inspiring! Makes me want to go out and take a bunch of pictures. Very good photography, and keep it up.

  46. Your pictures are amazing. I especilly love the black and white picture of the mosque with the bird flying of the ground!

    I’ll love to visit Turkey now:)

  47. P.S Can your pictures be used and saved?

  48. COOL i love travelling alot… and Turkey is one of my wishlist to visit ! :D
    you and ur mate seems very happy
    hope i get exchange student to go there

    • My wife and I really enjoy traveling. I’ve done two exchanges including 12 months living with Japanese families. It was a wonderful experience and I am still in touch with my host brother who is now helping with the tsunami relief. I look forward to hosting students in the future. Meeting and interacting with people with people from around the world has been great and is what led us to Turkey for holiday.

  49. Stunning pics! Turkey is a photographer’s dream! My husband and I visited last year and LOVED the country so much. Your photos are really lovely, reminds me of our time there, wish I could go back :D

  50. Beyond stunning photos.

  51. I bought three of those blue “eye” glass things when I was in Turkey. I hang them on my Christmas tree each year, and it always brings good memories.

    • We bought one to hang as the tag on our cat’s collar. It’s makes me think of the trip very often. I like the idea of hanging one on the Christmas tree and may ask my friends to bring me a larger one.

  52. these are stunning photos of my favorite city in the world. what kind of a camera do you use?

  53. Cool pictures. Especially the old building ones. :)

  54. I’ve been to most of those places, but I didn’t get any photos like that! Turkey is an amazing country. Well done!

  55. Thank you for the glimpse of Turkey. I’ve been day dreaming of visiting there for a good while now. Your photos and story have inspired me to make it happen!

  56. Your photos are superior! My sister and her children recently returned from Istanbul and her tales (particularly of the turkish bath) were profound. Thank you for sharing. I particularly like the photos of the market place, street scenes and of course the photos of Ayosofia. Please continue sharing!

  57. Wow, it looks so beautiful! I’m sure you had an awesome time! I have to visit there sometime…

  58. MAGIC country & happy couple

  59. GREAT photos! Lovely. Thanks for sharing! :)

  60. [...] Adventures in Turkey: From Cappadochia to Istanbul (via The Pages’ Page) Filed under: Uncategorized by nadyataraditha — Leave a comment June 7, 2011 A couple months ago, Emily and I had the pleasure of exploring Turkey and visiting with Christiaan and Dara.  It was a beautiful country and a great adventure that we will be sharing over the coming weeks.  Some of the highlights include exploring Istanbul’s bustling markets and extraordinary mosques, the historical ruins of Ephesus, a snowy capital in Ankara, and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia.  These are some of our favorite photos from the t … Read More [...]

  61. after reading your post and looking at the pictures! i really can’t wait to visit turkey! am leaving for turkey on friday! :D

  62. BRAVO!!!

    My own trip to Turkey was wonderful and you bring back beautiful memories!

  63. Wow amazing. I am spell bound. Great Pics

  64. Wow, beautiful, evocative photographs. I particularly love the close-ups, you have a great eye. x

  65. Incredible shots!

  66. Oh my God. Your pictures are extraordinary, especially the one with the pigeons in front of the mosque. I visited Turkey myself and loved the country and its people. I have my travel posts at: http://wanderzoo.wordpress.com/2010/06/06/istanbul-impressions-huzun-bustle/

  67. Had a nice trip :)

  68. Amazing pictures!

  69. Rob, I love you blog. :)

  70. I had always wanted to visit Istanbul. Your pictures have just made this feeling way too strong. Some day i ll make sure to visit it. Thanks a ton for this virtual tour & obviously great photography. Loved the minarets.

  71. Love your blog. Always wanted to go to Turkey ~ now I really want to go. Your photos are astounding.

  72. a beautiful country, my daughter went in 2010, hope to go there in the near furture

  73. oooohhh my God..it’s so so beautiful

  74. [...] Turkey: Turkish Delight (thepagespage.wordpress.com) Share [...]

  75. Very nice photographs!!I would like to go to Istanbul…

  76. I was in Istanbul in 2004 and it was wonderful! The sites, the food, the people… You captured it beautifully!

  77. Wow, what a fantastic and interesting place it looks. You have really captured the real Turkey in your pictures.

    Congrats on being Freshly pressed!

  78. Hi! It’s so beautiful pics. Thanks for sharing. Ohh my god!..

  79. I was there with my family 2 years ago. Love the place! Your photos brought back some really good memories!

  80. nice country and journey documentations…

  81. The photos are beautiful. It reminded me of home! Great pictures!

  82. These photos are spectacular! I think they just bumped Turkey up on my list of places to visit. I love the eyes on the tree. I recently returned from Greece and we saw those everywhere!

  83. nice pics, am excited for my trip here next here….thanks for the PREVIEW!

  84. Wow, incredible photos! The architectural shots just blew me away. Thanks for taking us along on your trip!

  85. wonderful

  86. I love this post ! Its so vibrant and informative. I might be going to Turkey myself in near future. Sure its a cool place.

  87. Nice! I love your snaps. The colors are wonderful and sharp. Congrats on being FP-ed. :)

  88. Another great photographer+traveler’s blog..Nice work! What I like the most from your pictures is that you managed to capture important moments with stunning backdrop.

  89. [...] at the crossroads of civilizations, is a place that we (and many readers of the previous post) will not forget.  Our initial exposure was on the tram from the airport to [...]

  90. Amazing pictures! You capture Turkey so beautifully. Thanks for sharing!

  91. All amazing and awesome capture…Its really nice.

  92. [...] found a blog, the page’s page, that has some beautiful photos from Istanbul to Cappadocia. If you are not able to visit Turkey, [...]

  93. [...] the photos below and some more on Smugmug. We hoped you liked our Adventures in Turkey: Post 1 (Turkey), Post 2 (Istanbul), Post 3 (Selcuk), Post 4 [...]

  94. [...] break’ trip to Turkey in March.  Even the Turks were surprised by the snow, but it was a beautiful trip. Fairy Chimney – Cavusin, Turkey … March 10, 2011 … Photo by Rob Page III [...]

  95. I just returned from Turkey and a bicycle trip beginning from the coast at Bodrum (sleeping and traveling by boat island to island) of the southern aegean greek islands 2 weeks ago. Amazing place! And your photos are amazing!! What a wonderful place to see and meet their wonderful Turkish people. Especially nice to see with my own eyes at this time when the world has such bad feelings towards Muslims. I found out, as I am sure you did, that they are a beautiful people. It was refreshing to say the least.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

